If you use an Adblocker please consider disabling it while browsing this blog.
By viewing and/or clicking the AD's you make the future of this blog brighter! Thank you!

Advertisement

Friday, December 15, 2017

Top 25 Books Of 2017: #11 That's What Friends Are For By Jim Benton




Welcome To The Fifth Annual
Top 25 Books Of The Year!

For the next 25 days, we'll be counting down to Christmas with the Top 25 Books I've read this year! The book doesn't have to have been published this year. This list may only include books I've read from December 2016 to November 2017 (re-reads, books published a few years ago, ARC's of books about to be published, audio books, etc. also count).

*Books in this list are ranked from number twenty-five to number one (the best book of the year).

So let's get started!
***
#11

That's What Friends Aren't For
(Dear Dumb Diary #9)
By Jim Benton

Dear Dumb Diary,

So now I'm friends with Angeline. This is automatic friendship, and I have to just accept it and make the best of things. 

See, if I objected, then Aunt Carol might divorce Angeline's uncle, sending both of them tumbling into a deep pit of depression for the rest of their lives, and Angeline could wind up feeling so guilty that she would have to go be locked up in an old dirty insane asylum for years and years, and Stinker's puppies could grow up not knowing both their parents --- and I couldn't live with myself for doing something like that to a puppy.
Goodreads Button
Available At:
Amazon | B&N | iBooks |

You can also check out my review of this book:
My Review |
__________________
About The Author:

Benton began his career in a custom design t-shirt shop where he started designing his own characters. At the same time, Jim did illustrations and artwork for magazines and newspapers. People magazine named him "the most visible cartoonist in America" .

Benton also created greeting cards and worked in the magazine and publishing industry. In 1998, his SpyDogs characters became an animated series, The Secret Files of the Spy Dogs, that aired on Fox Kids. Licensing his own creations brought them widespread attention on products, such as It's Happy Bunny, The Misters, Just Jimmy and more.

Benton currently lives in Michigan, where he operates out of his own studio.
Website | Goodreads | Twitter | Facebook |

My Ramblings: Seasonal Books: Yay or Nay?

Seasonal Books: Yay or Nay?

I can't be the only one who doesn't really enjoy season specific books, right? I like extra novellas/books in my favorite series as much as any other person, but seasonal books have become a turn off for me in the last few years. 

The story could take place any other day/time of the year, why does it have to be specifically geared towards Christmas, Halloween, Valentine's Day, etc.? I understand the marketing purpose of it all, but does it really make a difference? Book sales get me to buy more books than usual. A specifically themed holiday story in the middle of a series, will not do that for me.

Looking back on these 'My Ramblings' posts I seem to be a big complainer. I've realized that I have way too many pet peeves when books are involved, which is getting more and more drastic every year, even for me.

What are some of your pet peeves (bookish or otherwise)?
Let's complain about them in the comments below!

Thursday, December 14, 2017

Top 25 Books Of 2017: #12 Tempting Raven By Jessica Sorensen




Welcome To The Fifth Annual
Top 25 Books Of The Year!

For the next 25 days, we'll be counting down to Christmas with the Top 25 Books I've read this year! The book doesn't have to have been published this year. This list may only include books I've read from December 2016 to November 2017 (re-reads, books published a few years ago, ARC's of books about to be published, audio books, etc. also count).

*Books in this list are ranked from number twenty-five to number one (the best book of the year).

So let's get started!
***
#12

Tempting Raven
(Curse of the Vampire Queen #1)
By Jessica Sorensen

Eighteen-year-old Raven was just an ordinary vampire until Fate chose her as the new vampire queen. And Fate has a twisted sense of humor because it chose Rhyland Midnitegale as king, who just happens to be her sworn enemy.

Raven isn’t thrilled about ruling with Rhyland, but if she doesn’t step up to her title, the chaos, rebellions, and murders taking over the vampire world will only continue to get worse. So she accepts the position, but secretly hopes that maybe Fate will change its mind.

She soon learns that being queen comes with many rules. Rules that bind her heart and soul to Rhyland in ways she never imagined. Rules that keep her life out of danger from outside threats. Rules that she must follow or the entire vampire kingdom pays the price.

But dangers may be lurking close by, and Raven may be cursed with more than just the title of the queen.
Goodreads Button
Available At:
Amazon |

You can also check out my review of this book:
My Review |
__________________
About The Author:



Jessica Sorensen is a New York Times and USA Today bestselling author from the snowy mountains of Wyoming. When she's not writing, she spends her time reading and hanging out with her family.
Website | Goodreads | Twitter | Facebook |


The Power Of Book Covers: Devil In Spring By Lisa Kleypas


They say don't judge a book by it's movie...err...COVER. 
BUT they never said we couldn't PRAISE them.

This week's cover:

Devil In Spring
By Lisa Kleypas

An eccentric wallflower…

Most debutantes dream of finding a husband. Lady Pandora Ravenel has different plans. The ambitious young beauty would much rather stay at home and plot out her new board game business than take part in the London Season. But one night at a glittering society ball, she’s ensnared in a scandal with a wickedly handsome stranger.

A cynical rake…

After years of evading marital traps with ease, Gabriel, Lord St. Vincent, has finally been caught-by a rebellious girl who couldn’t be less suitable. In fact, she wants nothing to do with him. But Gabriel finds the high-spirited Pandora irresistible. He’ll do whatever it takes to possess her, even if their marriage of convenience turns out to be the devil’s own bargain.

A perilous plot…

After succumbing to Gabriel’s skilled and sensuous persuasion, Pandora agrees to become his bride. But soon she discovers that her entrepreneurial endeavors have accidentally involved her in a dangerous conspiracy -- and only her husband can keep her safe. As Gabriel protects her from their unknown adversaries, they realize their devil’s bargain may just turn out to be a match made in heaven...
Goodreads Button
Available At:
Amazon |

Wednesday, December 13, 2017

Top 25 Books Of 2017: #13 Closer By Dannika Dark




Welcome To The Fifth Annual
Top 25 Books Of The Year!

For the next 25 days, we'll be counting down to Christmas with the Top 25 Books I've read this year! The book doesn't have to have been published this year. This list may only include books I've read from December 2016 to November 2017 (re-reads, books published a few years ago, ARC's of books about to be published, audio books, etc. also count).

*Books in this list are ranked from number twenty-five to number one (the best book of the year).

So let's get started!
***
#13

Closer
By Dannika Dark

Time is running out...

Kane never believed in things like fate or karma. Not until the night he took a life.

A secret society of immortals lives within the human world. Kane is one of them--a Sensor who experiences emotional energy through touch. But despite his good looks and easy-going personality, Kane lives a solitary life. Unlike other Sensors, he is unnaturally hypersensitive.

Touch brings pain.

Fate throws a curveball when a woman's life is placed in his hands. Kane is suddenly faced with making a choice, and each comes with a consequence that will wreck him forever. Time is not on his side.

Will she be his salvation, or his ruination?

Closer is a stand alone novella that is based in the same world of the Mageri series, but is not part of the Mageri series.
Goodreads Button
Available At:
Amazon | Audible | B&N | Kobo | iBooks |

You can also check out my review of this book:
My Review |
__________________
About The Author:

This is the segment where you learn a little more about who I am, so here's what I can tell you: I drink copious amounts of vitamin water placed precariously close to my laptop while writing. These are two healthy habits I have no intention of breaking. I'm a transplant living in the south, but I was born in the 70's to a military dad who moved us around the world.
When I'm not writing (which is all the time), I'm hunting down Indie music, watching movies, reading, eating Tex-Mex, discovering new ways to humiliate myself bowling, and burning up my laptop battery on the Internet. I have a relaxed, easy-going personality and don't like drama. I live with a cat who thinks she is a dog, or a goat (she eats plastic, so I'm not sure which).

Throughout my life, I've had insomnia. Counting sheep never worked and eventually I would imagine those sheep were the sole source of food after an apocalyptic battle where only thousands survived. I made up stories in a futile attempt to bore myself to sleep. The problem was, I got so wrapped up in my "head stories" that I would continue them through the following nights, changing it up each time to make it more exciting. Eventually, I started writing my ideas down - creating short stories, and then I discovered my love for poetry.

It's almost embarrassing how many spiral notebooks and stacks of paper I have of poetry and lyrics.

Another passion: digital art. I design all my book covers, marketing, and series art. I'm a very visual person and pursued photography as an avid hobby for many years.

I am not a YA author (I feel like I have to state this only because I've had a few people ask), but I think it's wonderful there are so many books available to teens in Urban Fantasy and Paranormal.

I am finally doing what I have always wanted to do: giving my characters a pulse through writing full time. I focus on adult urban fantasy romance, but I don't like labels and I enjoy blending genres to break out of the confines of predictability.

But it's what I love to do.
Facebook | Twitter | Pinterest | Goodreads | Website |
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...